Profession and Tradition, welcome to our website....
A family run business since 1913 and now in its fourth generation. The business was started by Robert William Crofts, about 1912-13 after he had spent five years as an apprentice with John James Jarvis, as a carpenter and joiner. With the outbreak of the First World War he enlisted, and because of his trade, was sent to London, where he worked at Woolwich Arsenal and later on the docks construction.
His first son Robert Frederick Crofts (known as Fred) joined his father in the trade and work ranged from schools, churches, new houses and general carpentry repairs.
Fred joined the civilian RAF ground force in World War II, whilst his father carried on the business. On Fred's return to Elm after the war work was scarce, and it was whilst working at the old Queen's School, they were offered decorating work.
In 1950 Robert was taken ill and didn't work any more before his death. Fred carried on and had to employ men to help him.
Stuart Crofts join his father Peter and grandfather Fred in 1989, like his father he had helped out much before this time during school holidays learning along the way. He attended Norfolk college of Arts and technology in King's Lynn the same year and after 2 years of day release college he gained a City and Guilds Distinction in Painting and Decorating and a further Advanced Painting and Decorating distinction the following year. He became a partner in 1994.
The business has gone from strength to strength and even with over 100 years experience under our belts we still continue to learn and look forward to the challenges ahead.